Information on Guinea-Bissau

The Republic of Guinea-Bissau (pronounced /ˈgɪni bɨˈsaʊ/; Portuguese: República da Guiné-Bissau, IPA[ʁɛˈpublikɐ dɐ giˈnɛ biˈsau]) is a country in western Africa, and one of the smallest nations in continental Africa. It is bordered by Senegal to the north, and Guinea to the south and east, with the Atlantic Ocean to its west. Formerly the Portuguese colony of Portuguese Guinea, upon independence, the name of its capital, Bissau, was added to the country's name to prevent confusion with the Republic of Guinea.