Information on Suriname

Suriname[2] (Dutch: Suriname; Sranan Tongo: Sranan), officially the Republic of Suriname (originally spelled Surinam by the English who founded the first colony at Marshall's Creek,[3] along the Suriname River, but was later officially changed into Suriname), is a country in northern South America. Suriname is one of four non-Spanish-speaking states in South America along with Brazil, Guyana, and French Guiana. Suriname does not border any Hispanophone nations on the South American continent.

Suriname was formerly known as Nederlands Guyana, Netherlands Guiana or Dutch Guiana. Suriname is situated between French Guiana to the east and Guyana to the west. The southern border is shared with Brazil and the northern border is the Atlantic coast. The southernmost border with French Guiana is disputed along the Marowijne river; while the once-disputed boundary with Guyana was arbitrated by the United Nations Convention on Law of the Sea on September 20, 2007. The country is the smallest sovereign state in terms of area and population in South America and is the only Dutch-speaking nation in the Western Hemisphere that is not a part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Suriname also has the highest percentage of Muslims in the Americas.